Personnel

 

E. Jane Albert Hubbard

Professor, Department of Cell Biology; Skirball Institute of Biomolecular Medicine, Developmental Genetics.
 

Email: jane.hubbard@med.nyu.edu

 

 

 

Zhao Qin

Postdoctoral Fellow

Email: Zhao.Qin@med.nyu.edu

Zhao earned her PhD at the University of Michigan studying regeneration in the zebrafish retina in Pamela Raymond’s lab. Her work provided unbiased evidence for related genetic programs underlying regeneration of diverse tissues (retina, heart and fin). She is interested using C. elegans to determine how aging influences stem cells.

 

 

Debasmita Roy

Postdoctoral Fellow

Email: Debasmita.Roy@med.nyu.edu

Debasmita graduated summa cum laude from SUNY-Brockport. She then earned her PhD in 2011 in the lab of Dirk Dittmer at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, where she worked on the pathobiology of Kaposi’s sarcoma associated herpes virus with special emphasis on the role of the TOR signaling pathway. Debasmita is focusing on the novel discovery that S6K is a potent modulator of the undifferentiated vs. differentiated fate in C. elegans germline stem cells.

 

Olga Pekar

Postdoctoral Fellow

Email: Olga.Pekar@med.nyu.edu

Prior to joining the Hubbard Lab in 2012, Olga earned her Ph.D. in Cell Biology from the Department of Cell Research and Immunology, Tel-Aviv University, Israel, where she conducted research on the nuclear function of EHDs with the group of Dr. Mia Horowitz. There, she discovered that EHD2 nuclear shuttling is regulated by SUMOylation. Olga is now interested in how TGFß signaling regulates germline stem cells.

Amanda Fry

Postdoctoral Fellow

Email: Amanda.Fry@nyumc.org

Amanda joined the lab in 2015 after earning her PhD in Cell Biology in the lab of Ken Norman at the Albany Medical College. There, she studied the role of VAV-1, the C. elegans ortholog of the Vav proto-oncogene in neuronal contexts. She is interested in stem cell responses to nutrition by way of conserved signaling pathways. 

Yujie Fan

Technician

Email: Yujie.Fan@med.nyu.edu

Yujie joined the lab in late 2014 after undergraduate thesis work on DAZL in the lab of Kehkooi Kee at Tsinghua University and a summer internship working on phage display antibodies in the lab of Howard Lipshitz. In the Hubbard Lab, she has been building tools to monitor germline stem cell behavior.

 

Theresa Walton

Administrative Assistant

Email: Theresa.Walton@med.nyu.edu

 

 

Jocelyn Yu - Undergraduate

Jenny Gao - Undergraduate

Salem Achour - Intern from Paris VII

 

LAB ALUMNI